Creating a strong defense in your DUI case is extremely important in Kenton or Boone County Kentucky. The DUI laws in the state cover a broad range of drivers, including those under 21, first time offenders, multiple issue offenders, and out of state drivers. In Northern Kentucky, hiring a competent attorney to manage your case is critical for success.
Repeat offenders are included in a five year look-back period, and the use of this repeat offender label is to increase mandatory minimum punishments. The look back period stretches from the date of each arrest, and it’s important for verifying that the police accurately charged you with the right offense.
Aggravated DUI and DUI Accidents
An aggravated DUI refers to other circumstances in play at the time of your incident, such as refusing the DUI test, passengers in the vehicle under the age of 12, causing an accident that led to injury or another person’s death, and driving 30 MPH or faster above the speed limit. Aggravated DUI can lead to increased punishments. Particularly when accidents have injured others as a result of a DUI, it’s critical to get legal counsel right away.
In certain situations, an individual may be able to expunge a DUI from their criminal record. Expungement of misdemeanors are available to you if your case was classified in that way. In order to get DUI expungement, you must have no misdemeanor of violation offenses in the five years prior to the DUI, no pending felonies, misdemeanors, or violations, and no previous felony activities. To learn more about your expungement options, speak with the Boone County DUI attorney.
Your life can become further complicated if you were arrested for driving under the influence while under the legal drinking age of 21 in Northern Kentucky. Once a chemical test confirms that the driver has a BAC of .02% of higher, the driver may be cited for a DUI. For those above the age of 21, the citable BAC is .08%. Penalties for an underage DUI in Northern Kentucky can include imprisonment, fines, and license suspension. Multiple offenses increases the severity of the punishment awarded.
The penalties for your DUI will depend on several factors, such as whether you refuse to take a test to determine your BAC. For a first offense, you may face jail time from 2 days to 30 days. For an aggravated DUI, jail time starts at 4 days. Fines range from $200 to $500 and your driving license may be suspended for up to 120 days. For multiple offenses, your jail time and suspension period can increase substantially. Working with a DUI attorney in Northern Kentucky can help you face the lowest possible penalties.